Coastal Kapana cook-off competition participants bring their A-game

20 Jul 2018

The coastal Nedbank Kapana cook-off Preliminary Round took place on Saturday, 14 July, 2018 at the Dunes Mall in the harbour town of Walvis Bay.

Forty-four participants took part in the normal kapana cook-off category while three participants entered for the professional chef’s category.

The region produced five winners in the normal cook-off and one winner in the professional chef’s category.

The winners will battle it out in the grand finale which will be held in Windhoek on 4 August 2018, where a tough battle is anticipated between the northern, coastal, eastern and central regions.

During the competition, MeatMa’s Sales Representative Local Markets & Value Addition, Griffith Uahindua, spoke about the importance of good quality hygienic meat such as that produced through Meatco.

He highlighted that keeping workstations or kapana stands clean and washing hands on a regular basis help prevent the outbreak of diseases such as Hepatitis E.  

“Our involvement in the Nedbank Kapana cook-off Competition this year promises to bring MeatMa products even closer to the people.

“Through similar competitions, Kapana vendors throughout the country are given an opportunity to become MeatMa cash clients and purchase meat directly from us.  This affirms the reason for MeatMa’s inception of serving communities while simultaneously contributing to the “Growth at Home Strategy,” Uahindua said.

The Nedbank Kapana cook-off Competition will now head to Gobabis in the eastern region.

The judges from the Namibia Chefs Association (NCA) will be focusing on workstation and meat hygiene, presentation of the workstation and on the taste of the meat sponsored by MeatMa through Meatco in collaboration with Nedbank, Namib Mills and Pick n Pay.   

All the 44 participants line-up before the competition commenced.

Certificated awarded to all the participants who took part in the competition.

One of the participants in the Professional Chefs category.

The five winners through next to the final round.

The ten finalists awarded.